Home Forums Reviews Classifieds Gallery Chat Calendar Store Map Player Map Links
Forum HomeMember ListSearchRegister Login

Statistics
Users 116,258
Products 487
Reviews 197
Views 11,516,896

Random Products -
[Tokyo Marui]
16_WinCE_.jpg
Tokyo Marui P90-TR
Cheesehead

[ Tokyo Marui ]
http://www.airsoftretreat.com/reviews/data/30/thumbs/IMG_2407_Small_.JPG
Tokyo Marui G36c
Antimatter

[ Tokyo Marui ]
14.jpg
Tokyo Marui G36C
Cheesehead

[ Tokyo Marui ]
4.jpg
Tokyo Marui G18 Elec
Cheesehead

[ Tokyo Marui ]
TM_SR-16_t_titleshot.jpg
Tokyo Marui Knight's
TehLlama

[ Tokyo Marui ]
10_WinCE_.jpg
Tokyo Marui M1A1 Tho
Cheesehead

[ Tokyo Marui ]
· more ·

Most Viewed
How To: Paint Camouflage, Template and ... 218,033
KSC Glock 19 GBB 206,379
Tokyo Marui H&K MP7A1 PDW 142,602
TSD/DE UMP .45 118,547
Classic Army M15A4 CQB-R 107,524
Custom Painted Guns Custom Camo Stencils 100,387
KWA Glock 18 98,738
AGM Sharp Shooter MP001 97,911

 
Home » Electric Guns » Tokyo Marui
TM_SR-16_t_titleshot.jpg

 
Tokyo Marui Knight's SR-16 M4
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 37991 Mon June 18, 2007
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $327.50 8.5
TM_SR-16_t_titleshot.jpg


TM_SR-16_t_titleshot.jpg
supersize









Description: Tokyo Marui Co. Ltd. of Japan made Automatic Electric Gun


Knight's Armament Company Stoner Rifle SR-16 14.5" Carbine
w/ M4 RIS Rail Interface System, Rear flip-up BUIS Sight, and full stock


This is a later style (SR-16 and M733) Gen1 Marui AR-15 AEG w/ realistic gas tube. Battery is placed in the rear M16A2 style buttstock.
MacGyver
 
Posts: 9,764
Registered: May 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA



Author
TehLlama
MacGyver

Registered: May 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 9764
Review Date: Wed March 22, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great look and feel, upgrade and accessory potential
Cons: It's an ArmaLite, Heavy w/ RIS, Front sling

http://www.airsoftretreat.com/gallery/data/561/TM_SR-16_t_titleshot.jpg


Tokyo Marui SR16 Review
Written by: Whistler


Appearance and Build
When I removed the SR16s box top, I was treated to an awesome sight. The SR16’s receiver, stock, and grips are all the same shade of black, which makes the gun look very real. The receiver is high quality plastic, which looks much like metal from all but the closest of distances. The receiver bears a golden Knights Armament logo, as well as ‘SR16 M4’, ‘STONER RIFLE CAL. 5.56MM’, and on the other side of the receiver, ‘KNIGHT’S MFG. CO. VERO BEACH, FL. U.S.A’.


http://www.airsoftretreat.com/gallery/data/561/TM_SR-16_1a.jpghttp://www.airsoftretreat.com/gallery/data/561/TM_SR-16_1.jpg


In addition to different trademarks, there are many things that differentiate between the SR16 and the other M4/M16s. Perhaps the most noticeable is the SR16 Rail Interface System (RIS for short), which allows for easy attachment of many different accessories. The classic Armalite carry handle is replaced by a much smaller flip up sight, which makes the SR16 (in my opinion) less cumbersome.


When I took the SR16 out of its box, I was surprised at just how heavy it was. The SR16 weighs about 7 pounds, and even more when loaded with bb’s and battery. With no battery in the stock, the SR16 is a bit front heavy, due to its mostly metal RIS. It was nice of Tokyo Marui to include a vertical fore grip, which helps you control all the extra weight in the front of the gun.


Some of the features I noticed right off the bat, and some details about each:


The RIS:
The SR16’s integrated RIS is one of its greatest assets. Four 20mm rails make up the system, and each rail comes with a nice rail cover to protect it when not in use. The bottom rail is independent from the rest of the system, and can easily be removed. This bottom rail also comes with a vertical fore grip attached. The RIS allows you to add a plethora of accessories, including: lasers, flashlights, bipods, battery packs, and anything else your heart could possibly desire.


http://www.airsoftretreat.com/gallery/data/561/TM_SR-16_2.jpg


Fore Grip:
The SR16 comes with a vertical fore grip that easily attaches to the SR16’s RIS. The grip is pretty light weight, and made entirely of plastic, but it seems solid enough that it wont break any time soon. The grip can be easily adjusted to whatever position on the rail suits you. I prefer to keep the grip close to the magazine well, but that is just me.


http://www.airsoftretreat.com/gallery/data/561/TM_SR-16_3.jpg


Flip Up Sight:
This is one of the features that made me pick the SR16. The flip up sight uses the same sight aperture as a carry handle, but without the extra bulk or weight, making for a more streamlined appearance. As a bonus, when you add any kind of optics to the upper receiver, the iron sight can be simply put down and out of the way.


http://www.airsoftretreat.com/gallery/data/561/TM_SR-16_4.jpg


Aiming
I made sure the sight was aligned properly, loaded an empty magazine (but without battery), and brought the SR16 to eye level. The sight gives you a big picture, and you can easily see your surroundings when you don’t have the confines of the carry handle. This is really where you notice the weight of the SR16. I find that the vertical angle of the fore grip (or holding the SR by the magazine well) really helps keep the strain off your wrist, which will allow you to keep steady aim longer. I also noticed that I really dig the stock of the SR into my shoulder, to help balance out its weight and help me keep it steady. When in this position, I noticed something: the rifle was not designed with south-paws (left handed people) in mind. When I hold the SR16 in my right hand, I can easily use my thumb on the fire selector, and my index finger on the magazine release. Well, with my left hand, its much more difficult. So, all you south-paws will have to use two hands just to remove your magazine, and take your finger off the trigger to change mode of fire.The fire selector has three modes: safe, semi, and auto, which are nicely drawn in the same golden hue as the rest of the SR16’s trademarks. The switch gives a satisfying ‘click’ whenever you move to a new mode of fire, but only time will tell if that will hold up. So, lets load this puppy up and take her for a whirl!


Loading
Along with my SR16, I ordered two bags of Marui .2g bb’s, which I decided to use right off the mark. I used the standard ‘musket loader’ to load my magazine with 52 rounds (although the M16 magazines used by the SR16 are designed to hold 68 rounds), and pulled my battery off the charger. The SR16 stores large type batteries in its stock, which will allow for a full day of shooting. The other nice thing about having a large battery is that its substantial weight helps offset the heavy RIS, giving the rifle a much more balanced and realistic feel. It will probably take you a few tries to get the battery in to the relatively tight confines of the stock, especially with the fuser (a small, tube shape on the power cord in the gun). Getting all the cords, as well as the battery and fuser into the stock, takes a bit of practice. But, when you do, the tight space keeps the battery from rattling around too much, helping to make you forget that the SR16 is ‘just’ an airsoft gun. I proceeded to load the magazine, and pulled back the cocking bolt. The dust cover popped open, accompanied by a satisfying ‘click’. This rather fun loading process also exposes the Hop Up adjustment, which is under a plastic slide under the dust cover.


http://www.airsoftretreat.com/gallery/data/561/TM_SR-16_5.jpg


Now that the SR16 is locked and loaded, its time to test her accuracy! Testing In order to test the accuracy of the SR16, I set up a cardboard box, and stapled three TM targets to it. I put the box on a folding chair, and set myself up about 50 feet from the targets. There was a fairly stiff breeze, but being in my back yard, I was hoping my fence would help eliminate this natural factor. These TM targets are about half the size of sheet of printer paper, making them fairly small targets. Note: I have not touched the Hop Up. This is just an accuracy test based on stock settings!


http://www.airsoftretreat.com/gallery/data/561/TM_SR-16_6.jpg


On all targets, my shots were a bit low and to the left. The shots are off center due to the wind, and I believe I just need to fiddle with the Hop Up in order to get a higher shot. On the first two targets, I was taking my time, trying for as accurate shots as I could get. The third target I just unloaded on, just for fun. I like to think myself a good shot, and I think the groupings on these targets show it. For the first target, I fired from a supported position: sitting, with my arm on my left knee, and the barrel resting on my supported arm. 80% of my shots were in a two square inch area, showing just how accurate a stock SR16 can be in the right hands. I fired at the target from a standing position, again, from 50 feet. I did not have the tight grouping of my first target, but the SR16 one again shows some great accuracy. With 35 rounds left in my magazine, I decided to really unload on target number three. As you can see, the lower left quarter of the target is in tatters; about three quarters of my fire was concentrated there. The SR16’s grouping impressed me, considering I was standing and firing in automatic bursts. I was also delighted with the SR16s power. My shots easily punched through the cardboard box, and many of my bb’s were wedged into the back side of the box.


Infinite Potential
Since the Armalite series guns tend to be the most popular among airsofters, its no wonder that these guns have the most after market accessories of any series. Metal bodies, stocks, and outer barrels, conversion kits… the list goes on and on. In addition to the impressive line of Armalite accessories, the SR16 RIS provides a plethora of grips, lasers, flashlights, and anything else you could possibly desire. With all these products, it becomes fairly obvious that the SR16 can be made into any kind of weapon you need it to be. Does your team need heavy support? Put an electric drum magazine and a bipod onto your SR16. In the next scenario, you might be in the close confines of CQB (Close Quarters Battle), where you might keep your large magazine, but opt for a flashlight, laser, and fore grip. Long-range engagements you say? Reattach your bipod, and attach your scope of choice. Both the RIS and the included fore grip are quite easy to use. In order to access the RIS’s rails, you must remove the plastic rail covers, which act as grips when the rail it is covering is not in use. The covers easily slide off when you push down on a plastic tab and push the cover off the rail. The rails on the sides and top of the barrel are all one unit, but the bottom rail can be removed by simply pushing back the collar towards the receiver. Removing the lower rail allows you to access the outer barrel, and more easily attach or remove accessories. The fore grip has a small dial at its base, which when loosened, allows the grip to slide back and forth on the rail, or off completely. There is a slot in the bottom of the grip that is perfect size for a quarter, allowing you to really secure the grip without the use of any hard to carry tools. With all this available gear, the SR16 is an extremely capable platform, with the ability to quickly transform to the weapon you need… provided you can afford all the accessories.


Conclusion
The SR16 is, as far as I am concerned, the ultimate woodland weapon. Stock, it has excellent performance, and by its very design, it can be adapted to fit a number of battlefield roles. In addition to its outstanding performance, the SR16 is quite possibly the most realistic AEG I have ever used. It has lots of metal, and its trademarks look incredibly real. I would recommend the SR16 to veterans and newbies alike. I would suggest it for ground-pounders; for snipers; and for support troops. I would also suggest the SR16 to anyone who wants an attractive showpiece. I would also suggest the SR16 to anyone as a base for a custom gun, due to the sheer number of aftermarket accessories available for this series gun and its RIS.



Pros and Cons


Pros:
- Great look and feel
- Plenty of metal parts
- Excellent accuracy and power
- Easy to upgrade and add accessories
- Plenty of things to add


Cons:
- Armalites are rather common
- The RIS makes the gun rather heavy
- All the aftermarket accessories can be quite expensive
- The front sling ring can be quite annoying when running, if you don’t have a sling attached to the gun
Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
airsoftperson

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 1909
Review Date: Mon December 18, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $379.99 | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quality plastic, good amount of metal, good finish on metal parts, fairly solid overall, great internal quality.
Cons: Barrel wobble, plastic used in some areas that really could use metal, front sight might get in the way of optics.

I decided on the Sr-16 after a long time of looking at AEGs, and acually this review made up my mind on what I wanted.


In the Box:
In the box was the gun, a 68rd magazine, 200 .25g BBs, a cleaning/unjamming rod, a loading tool + rod, and a battery and charger.


Externals:
When it was new it looked awsome, everything was a fairly matte black, slightly shiney when looked at right under the light. The gun seemed kind of heavy at first but I got used to it quickly. The trades on the left side of the reciever were nice too, I dont know/cant tell you about the left side since they were removed for some reason. (BTW, I bought the gun from my local airsoft shop in New Jersey) As a side note I had barrel wobble from day 1... Now since I have had the gun a year the matte finish near the rear of the reciever right under the stock and above the pistol grip has been wore off, and is shiney. Other places it has wore off are: the outside lip of the magazine well, inside the mag well, and somewhat on the top of the stock were you rest you check to aim. I find I like the look since it looks "battle hardend".


Internals:
Cant really say much, since I havent opened up my mechbox yet, but their the same as all marui internals that people know and (hopefully...) love.


Shooting:
It was rainy on christmas day when I got it so I had to wait a few days, to be dissappointed (explanation coming). I was using crappy .2g BBs from my local airsoft store, and the accuracy was horrid, at around 40' the groups were 5" by 5" min. And my gun was always shooting to the left by about 3-4 inches (I will explain later). Full auto was a lot of fun since I was coming from springers, so I was still enjoying my first AEG. After a month or two I got some Excel .2g non-bio BBs, thinking the BBs were to blame for the shooting to the left and horrible groups. When I went out to shoot, I adjusted my hop up, and shot at a TM target, and was amazed at the groups at 40', they were below 2", though I was still having the left shooting problem. As the months went by, I got a Systema hop up packing to see if that help with my problem, which it did a tad, but not much. A long story short, I found the problem was due to the barrel wobble, the barrel would flex to the left and was throwing off my shots. I would flex the barrel to the right and my shots would go straight and accuratly. So I put some masking tape in to joint between the barrel, and reciever, then walla! My barrel wobble was decreased, and accuracy was fixed. Once that was done the gun was insanly accurate, I was able to hit a coke can at around 80' over 60% of the time with AE .2g BBs. (if that seems bad to you go put a alum. can down and walk around 80' away from it, it's not a very big target).


Durabilty:
I have shot 20,000rds+ with this gun, have done long bursts and quick semi-auto shots, not a single jam, or problem. It has also been banged into a few trees, and nothing happened, it was still solid.


Scirm report:
On Dec. 10 2006, I went to Cousins paintball OP The Hunt, and competed with some highly upgraded AEGs, most shooting at over 330 fps, and a few in the 450 range with .25s!!! I went with 2 of my friends, and had a ok time. All of our guns were stock, and we had a great disadvantage, having max ranges of around 120'. We did better then I expected, I got around 5-6 kills the whole day, my friends, got 14, and 8. I did defend for most of the games we played, though when I did go on the attack I did better with this gun, being stock.


Conclusion:
I recommend this gun to anyone that doesnt want to worry about the gun breaking down within several thousand rounds, espically to people new to High-end AEGs. With around $50 in upgrade parts you can have this gun shooting at 350fps, and have a decent ROF with a good 8.4v battery. The RIS system also comes in handy, and the front grip keeps the gun steady while you aim.
Click here to see this users profile  
camohunter

Registered: June 2007
Posts: 231
Review Date: Sat June 16, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $275.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): very solid, excellent performance. heavy and study build. no creaks/wobbles
Cons: none, i love it

its really a very solid gun. i do reccommend getting a set a threaded lock pins for the receiver, as mine slipped out quite soon after i got the gun.


very accurate, range=approx 120-125
i upgraded to prometheus tighbore, range increased to approx 140 ish. i havent measured the new range out yet, but its def a good but further.
it is a heavy gun, i wont lie. but i do like the heavyness. its very solid, and has no creaky or wobbly parts.
there is plenty of space in the stock for a big battery. a 8.4v 3300 mah is a close fit, but it stays in fine.
rof is suprisingly good for a stock gun. it shoots pretty quickly, and doesnt sound like the rof is too high for the gears. my friends marui mp5sd5 has the same rof as mine, but his sounds like its straining to spit out bbs that quickly.
plenty room for accessories on the ris, although i only use the foregrip. the flip up sight is pretty good, however i prefered a carry handle and traded my friend for one.
highly reccommended-mines gone through approx 10,000 rounds and no problems. some people have not had alot of luck with this gun, but i havent had any yet and hope i never will.
thanks-
camohunter
Click here to see this users profile  
Review Date: Mon June 18, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): good feel,strong power
Cons: kinda obvious but dont put a on a stock gun

I got mine in a trade,first impression was i liked it.The stock has enough room to put a large type battery,but as said earlier it is still limited.The body felt solid,and there wasnt much creaking.But as my CONS said, I hooked a G&P 9.6v 3300 mah PEQ up to it.With that it had an amazing ROF,but the gearbox cracked after awhile (about 400 RDS).After that I sold it,but I still want to get another for a project gun.So I would recomend one to anyone looking for a good gun.
Click here to see this users profile  



Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2010 All Enthusiast, Inc.

No portion of this page, text, images or code, may be copied, reproduced, published or distributed in any medium without the expressed written permission of the copyright holder.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional