Home Forums Reviews Classifieds Gallery Chat Calendar Store Map Player Map Links
Forum HomeMember ListSearchRegister Login

Statistics
Users 106,073
Products 487
Reviews 197
Views 11,329,392

Random Products -
[Tokyo Marui]
http://www.airsoftretreat.com/reviews/data/30/thumbs/IMG_08171.JPG
Tokyo Marui H&K
TehLlama

[ Tokyo Marui ]
7.jpg
Tokyo Marui M16VN
Cheesehead

[ Tokyo Marui ]
16_WinCE_.jpg
Tokyo Marui P90-TR
Cheesehead

[ Tokyo Marui ]
11.jpg
Tokyo Marui SIG 552
Cheesehead

[ Tokyo Marui ]
A2.jpg
Tokyo Marui M16A2
Cheesehead

[ Tokyo Marui ]
1.jpg
Tokyo Marui AK-47s
Cheesehead

[ Tokyo Marui ]
· more ·

Most Viewed
How To: Paint Camouflage, Template and ... 214,834
KSC Glock 19 GBB 204,072
Tokyo Marui H&K MP7A1 PDW 141,275
TSD/DE UMP .45 117,178
Classic Army M15A4 CQB-R 106,611
Custom Painted Guns Custom Camo Stencils 98,991
KWA Glock 18 97,051
AGM Sharp Shooter MP001 96,859

 
Home » Electric Guns » Tokyo Marui
TM_M733.jpg

 
Tokyo Marui Co., Ltd Colt M733 Commando
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 61505 Fri May 20, 2011
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $256.67 8.5
TM_M733.jpg


TM_M733.jpg
supersize









Description: Tokyo Marui's M733 Commando is the shortest M4 AEG (With 10.7" Barrel) in their line, with a fixed carry handle, slimmer foregrips, retractable stock, and unique looks. It uses mini batteries in the foregrip, is compatible with all Marui M4/M16 magazines, and possessed 14mm CCW barrel threading.


The M733 also introduces the modified barrel assembly with realistic gas tube, delta assembly, and is the basis of most other manufacturer designs.


The M733 is compatible with all Marui M16 Series accessories.
MacGyver
 
Posts: 9,764
Registered: May 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA



Author
TehLlama
MacGyver

Registered: May 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 9764
Review Date: Mon April 10, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $210.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Compact, Lightweight, Accurate, Solid
Cons: Plastic Receiver, Short Barrel, small batteries.

By: Alpha



There was a lot of speculation when Tokyo Marui announced it would be an M733 replica – the common question was “What’s so special about this replica? How is it different or better than the other Armalite variants that TM produces?”


If you’re looking for this review to say “The Tokyo Marui M733 is the best AEG ever produced by Tokyo Marui!” then I’m afraid you’re going to be disappointed if you keep reading.


Instead, I’m going to say “The Tokyo Marui M733 is a solid AEG, in a compact size, which would be ideal for beginner looking to save money or a veteran looking for a backup or CQB weapon.”


http://www.airsoftretreat.com/gallery/data/535/TM_M733_1.jpg


Before moving on in this review, I want to take a moment and thank Redwolf Airsoft for providing me with an M733 to review. They shipped me this weapon just as soon as it was released so that I could bring you one of the first reviews on it. Unfortunately, my life has been really hectic recently and I’ve been just a bit lazy, so this review is being posted under the thought – “Better late than never!” Be sure to click on Redwolf’s banner ad on the front page of Airsoft Retreat – they’re an awesome retailer with a great selection of products and excellent customer service.
http://www.airsoftretreat.com/gallery/data/535/RW_Banner.jpg


Aesthetics
Now, on to the good stuff – I’ll start off with the question on everyone’s mind: “What does the receiver look like?”


http://www.airsoftretreat.com/gallery/data/535/TM_M733_2.jpg


As you can see, this review sample came to me with trademarks intact – while I’m not normally too keen on importing replicas without proper trademark covering, it is great to have unaltered trademarks since they look so nice in pictures! Taking a look at the trademarks, I first thought that these were an exact copy of those found on the Tokyo Marui M16A2; however, after a chat with Jack Ma of The Q Project (www.theqproject.com), I learned there are very subtle differences. The color, texture, and build quality of the receiver is identical to the TM M16A2 and very much what one would expect from a Tokyo Marui AEG.


Now, I’m not normally a fan of fixed carry handles – however, I think that the fixed carry handle on the M733 looks pretty spiffy. I look at the carry handle as a built-in high rise scope mount -- I’ve got a large 50mm red dot scope and a carry handle scope mount on order that I’m just dying to stick on this weapon.


One of the biggest improvements over existing designs that is introduced with the M733 is the redesigned front barrel assembly.


http://www.airsoftretreat.com/gallery/data/535/TM_M733_3.jpg


The joint between the receiver and outer barrel assembly has been significantly strengthened and the infamous barrel wobble problem decreased, if not solved completely. You should also see the new gas tube which runs beneath the handguards, not only mimicking the look of the real M733 but also adding another strengthening element.


http://www.airsoftretreat.com/gallery/data/535/TM_M733_4.jpg


Gone from the front barrel assembly is the clunky fuse assembly of the M4A1 and M4 RIS. Instead, Tokyo Marui has chosen to use an inline fuse holder, painted black, which is held in place with a reusable zip-tie. This was necessary because of the smaller internal space available for battery storage in the M733’s slimmer handguards.


Performance
In stock form, the Tokyo Marui M733 performs just like any other unmodified TM AEG. Accuracy is roughly on par with the M4A1 despite the M733 using a CAR-15 length inner barrel. Rate of fire using a 8.4v mini battery is acceptable at around 650 rounds per minute.


http://www.airsoftretreat.com/gallery/data/500/medium/IMG_0789.JPG


Upgrade Potential
Just like any AEG based on a Version 2 gearbox, there are a myriad of upgrade options that can be installed in the M733. For my M733, I’ve put in ZS-02-10 Systema Standard Ratio Flat Gears, Area 1000 metal bushings, and a PDI 150% spring. Muzzle velocity is around 375 fps with .20g BBs.


The biggest issue with upgrading the M733 is battery life. Because of the slim size of the handguards, batteries larger than a 9.6v 1100 mAh nun-chuck battery just won’t fit without a fair bit of electrical tape holding the handguards together. I’ve got two 8.4v 1000 mAh NiMH mini-batteries that seem to power the weapon well, but I imagine I’m at the upper threshold of upgrades for this weapon until a more effective battery solution is introduced while retaining the “stock” look.


http://www.airsoftretreat.com/gallery/data/535/medium/IMG_0833.JPG


Of course, if maintaining the original appearance of the replica isn’t your thing, then a number of other alternatives for batteries exist, including AN/PEQ-2 kits, Ready Mag systems, and of course, adding a M16 series full stock to conceal a large battery.


Conclusion
I’ve used, abused, tortured, and beaten my M733 within an inch of its life-- it’s a tough little weapon. Compact and lightweight, I find myself carrying the M733 instead of my uber-heavy upgraded SR16 during these extremely warm Texas summer months. The M733 would be a perfect compliment to a woodland ‘softer’s kit for a backup gun. Alternatively, the M733 is the perfect size for a CQB/CQC environment.


At a price of around $210 from most overseas retailers, the M733 is definitely a great gun for the beginner, looking to save money, or for the veteran, looking for something different.


http://www.airsoftretreat.com/gallery/data/535/medium/IMG_0834a.JPG
Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
redrider13

Registered: January 2006
Location: VA
Posts: 1317
Review Date: Thu August 17, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $235.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): great compact gun for CQB and Woodland
Cons: A little loss of accuracy

I bought my M733 about 1 month ago, it hasn't let me down yet. It has great ROF with a 9.6v and has enough firepower to touch people in woodlands. I recommend this gun for anyone who is looking for that CQB/Woodland Balance in a gun.
Click here to see this users profile  
1337bea

Registered: December 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 6
Review Date: Sun December 3, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Small, light, and sturdy
Cons: Many Plastic pieces(not a big deal),a little inaccurate

This is my first and only AEG and I think it's amazing. Very accurate for it's size and strong also. I always play in woods and this gun performs wonderfully. It can shoot almost as far as my brother's TM M14. I recommend it for anyone, new or a veteran. The only reason it was $300 is because it came w/ battery & charger.
Click here to see this users profile  
Review Date: Mon June 25, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $275.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Light, Small, Good ROF, Reliable
Cons: Inaccurate at Long Range, Plastic Parts

This gun is great!! Have had it for almost a year now and i have only had one problem, but i believe that was do to poor quality bb's and not the gun. I play woodland and this gun works great. I have a 9.6v battery and the rof is pretty good. I would recommend this gun to anyone thinking about it, great gun. Nice job TM!
Click here to see this users profile  
Lcpl O

Registered: May 2007
Posts: 73
Review Date: Sat September 1, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $245.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very durable, low maintanence, compact, easy to handle
Cons: Tiny hand guards, range can be a minor issue

This was one of the cheapest m-16a2 models. Even with a short barrel the range is pretty decent (50m-60m max with little or no wind.) I had mine for 3.5 yrs and the only part that I had to replace was the spring. The hop up is very good and easy to use for even beginners.
Click here to see this users profile  
norriscurescancr

Registered: February 2008
Posts: 3
Review Date: Sat February 2, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $275.00 | Rating: 4 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): looks, ajustable stock, trademarks, fire selector position, and easy to put/take mag in/out
Cons: ability to atach things, fps, distance accurate out to, rof

Iv had this gun for 2 yrs and the rof has declined, havent had many problems. My battery life was great when i first got it, but it has started to decline. Im now on a team that plays weekly and i need more fps than what this can provide and the ability to mount lights, lasers, and a m203 along with an auto winding box mag, im prety sure this gun will take the one i have, but the batery life i get out of the gun has declined so much that if I am able to get through a mid and low cap Im lucky.


I am also using this gun as my main gun. Heres the problems with that: im a spotter for the sniper on my team, i need high accuracy, rof, fps and mag capasity, and distance.


Dont get me wrong, this is one of the best guns you can buy if your starting off or want something that looks, feels, and prety much has everything the real version has. its a cheap gun that really works. The only thing is iv been on a team for 3 months, and iv had to use my frnds ak47 (also a marui) and his 3000 roung drum mag in order to keep my sniper and me alive.


I am happy with the gun, but iv goten bored of no adversity and little ability to add things (i have a nice camo paint on it, perfectly done by my freind).
Click here to see this users profile  



Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2010 All Enthusiast, Inc.

No portion of this page, text, images or code, may be copied, reproduced, published or distributed in any medium without the expressed written permission of the copyright holder.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional